italiano english
Fabbrica europa

Ether Sides

Ether Sides

50 young musicians, dancers and media makers from Belgium, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Romania, Spain, UK, will present the creation and production project Art’n’Go. New Routes to Intercultural Creativity.
The biennial project was launched in 2009 with the support of the Culture Programme of the European Union and the coordination of Sziget Festival in the frame of the Roots&Routes International network, operating in 10+ European countries for the promotion of cultural and social diversity in contemporary performing arts and media (see
In creative residencies throughout Europe, these young artists have designed and developed seven original productions combining music, dance, visuals and theatre, on the common theme of “(self)consciousness”.

From May 16 to 21, Roots & Routes International will furthermore spread through the city with workshops and installations: on the big open air piazza of the Stazione Leopolda, the public of Fabbrica Europa Festival will be welcomed by the images and sounds of the European cities involved in the Grundtvig Partnership project Urban Soundscapes, supported by the Lifelong Learning Programme of the European Union.

artistic advice: Costas Lamproulis, Nabil Ouelhadj,
Lorenzo Pallini
general coordination: Marina Bistolfi
technical direction: Saverio Cona
light design: Áron Kovács
filming coordination: Lorenzo Ciacciavicca,
Francesco Ritondale

Ether Sides (installation)
Ether Sides is an audio/video installation inspired by contemporary society. In every place it assumes different forms, developing in progress step by step. Through soundscapes and video images, it affects various levels of human consciousness, in a personal trip through the world of perceptions.
In Florence, Ether Sides investigates the invisible side of reality, the deep essence that remains unaltered even throughout all changes. It observes primordial rhythms and invisible rules, and invites the visitors to live the time. It appeals to a state of consciousness that is not intellectual but contemplative and meditative. The video-installation follows the day of the starlings, scanner by the rhythm of the light. It plays with the very evident presence of the swarms of birds in our cities and with the reasons that move them, invisible at a first glance. The score accompanying the video combines the natural sounds with their electronic interpretation.

concept and direction: Esteban Fernandez Escliar, Olga Pavlenko,
Rafael Ugarteche, Lorenzo Ciacciavicca
video: Olga Pavlenko, Lorenzo Ciacciavicca, Fabio Corcione,
Lucio Di Cicco
music: Esteban Fernandez Escliar, Rafael Ugarteche
with thanks to Lajo Mounkassa and Oliver Esseling

luogo data inizio orario
Stazione Leopolda
(Chill out)
21/05/2011 19:00